Sammy the Seal

Honey dough wine press

In delicious on Tuesday, 18 March, 2014 at 21:40

honey dough wine press 1

Speaking of belated pieces, this was a showpiece at a fundraising event here on campus in January. Honey dough is just a type of gingerbread, but it sounds a little nicer, and less familiar, than gingerbread.  I did everything but the bread, which the bread quarter students did, of course.

honey dough wine press 2

honey dough wine press 3

I wish I had gotten photos against a more picturesque backdrop than the lab, but it got moved around a lot. After I finished constructing the piece, it was spray-painted (unpainted piece is at the end), then filled with bread products, neither of which I was there for. This was the only time I saw it after I built it and before it got carted off to be displayed at the fancy dinner.

honey dough wine press 4

This high-angle photo is the best I could get, as far as photogenic quality. Slightly better than the hard edges and fluorescent lighting of the lab. Plus the leaves, which were made out of I-don’t-know-what by not-me look cute.

I didn’t know they were going to paint it, I thought it looked nice and rustic as it was. Though probably too plain for a ritzy banquet.

honey dough wine press 5

Leave a Reply

