Sammy the Seal

Fresh fruit tart with lemon pastry cream

In delicious on Sunday, 21 July, 2013 at 9:23

lemon fresh fruit tart 2

Blackberry, kiwi, peach, plum, blueberry, Rainier cherry sitting on top of lemon pastry cream inside of some kinda short dough. I flavored the cream with zest and juice, but my instincts tell me I may have erred in putting the juice in it because the pastry cream didn’t set up all slice-able like it was supposed to (acid). That or I didn’t cook it long enough, but it did get to a boil, so I don’t know.

Oh, and it got apricot glaze, of course:

lemon fresh fruit tart glazed

This was the night before. By the time I served it 18 hours later, there was a little bit of oozing, not too attractive. Maybe too much sliced fruit? It was only a few slice of peach, plum, and kiwi, but combined with the pastry cream not being set, it combined to make messy. I think I’ll enjoy it in its pristine state:

lemon fresh fruit tart 1

It tasted great, though. I stole a slice of a photo from someone not me which actually doesn’t look too bad. Slicing into it looked sloppier than this. Although maybe that’s how fresh fruit tarts are. I mean, fruit is bound to tumble about when it’s piled up. I think I actually prefer this shot to those of the whole.

lemon fresh fruit tart slice

  1. This looks beautiful!! Love all the contrasting colors – must have been delicious!

  2. […] concurrently with the tart. Banana cake filled and iced with caramel buttercream, with leftover caramel sauce (for the […]

Leave a Reply

