Sammy the Seal

Pineapple cheesecake + almond meringue sandwiches

In delicious, You're a kitty! on Sunday, 31 March, 2013 at 23:33

pineapple cheesecake 1

With ladyfinger border, obviously. Oops, didn’t get any photos of it sliced. Would’ve been messy anyhow. Sponge on the bottom, then pineapple, then cheese filling, then the rest of the pineapple. It was a fluffy cheesecake, not a smooth one with clean slices. I’d think that’s because of the soft peak meringue that was folded in to the mixture. (Edit: after speaking with a classmate this morning, it’s also quite likely I creamed too much air into the cheese mixture, which is why it wasn’t so smooth; it wasn’t so loose, it supported everything, but it sounds like you mix just until blended, and I remember definitely paddling it longer than that.) A little sweet, it could probably have done with only about 60% of the sugar. The ladyfingers had to be re-done, because I left them in maybe a minute too long. They were done when I checked on them the first time. Darn. But I wasn’t about to have a dark, shriveled, ugly border on the cake.

pineapple cheesecake 2

pineapple cheesecake 3

That would be an interesting appendage to have. You can snack on it, or you smash it into people, à la pie-in-the-face, at any moment, and then regenerate it.

pineapple cheesecake 4

Everything looks so different at night, like a different identity. It looks more serious.

pineapple cheesecake 5

I had extra whites from making buttercream, and extra buttercream from the cake, so for utilization’s sake, I made some almond meringue discs to hold the chocolate french buttercream. That, and I wanted to use my new mixer again, and to make one last thing before spring break ends and I have little time to tool around in the kitchen.
What’s with the dang shadows?almond meringue sandwiches 1

A bit better.

almond meringue sandwiches 2

And with that, I believe I feel a yawn coming.

yawn coming

Yes, it’s time to go.

yawn is here
Leave a Reply

