Sammy the Seal

Spanish banana nut cookies

In delicious, vinyl on Tuesday, 17 July, 2012 at 11:47


Song: Spanish Air
Artist: Slowdive
Album: Just For A Day

A few weeks ago I was listening to this song on the way to work at 630 in the morning, with the sun about an hour above the horizon, and I thought about how it’d be a good song for a soundtrack of a similar scene, just more dramatic. I used to do that quite a bit, I’m sure I’m one of many. I’m reminded of simpler days– less worry, less responsibility, more time to explore and listen to music, and more time to think of vague, imaginary scenes from an imaginary film to underscore a certain song with, with the hope/dream that I’d actually get to fulfill that one day. Ha! It does a pretty sweet dramatic, minor-key melody, which lends itself to anything swooning, sweeping, or significant. Make a statement with your scene.

Random experiment at 1030 pm: I thought of what would happen if I used banana in cookies, in place of butter. I thought it’d work better than applesauce since it’s not as thin, but it still came out light and spongy, a little cake-y almost. Which is fine, but I don’t think I’ll ever make cookies without fat in them. They’re a little drier, and not as flavorful. They just don’t seem to work as well. I still don’t know how to get the right spread for cookies, though this one doesn’t count, as the absence of fat probably had a lot to do with the shape seen here:

banana nut cookies

Butter it is.

Leave a Reply

