Sammy the Seal

Rhubarb and strawberry toaster pastries

In delicious, You're a kitty! on Sunday, 1 July, 2012 at 21:47

toaster pastry strawberry and rhubarb 1

Now turn to the right and re-arrange yourselves

toaster pastry strawberry and rhubarb 2

Better than commercial, with the likely-10%-fruit/90%-sugar filling. Making them is easy as pie. That’s all they are: pie dough with cooked fruit inside. Seven ingredients on the whole, compared to double or triple the number in processed. Butter is the only undesirable part, but as they say, it’s not so much the fat content as the excess of saccharides that are harmful. Even then, I scale back on the sugar. Fruit has sugar, so I don’t add much when cooking. It can speak for itself. If the fruit is legitimately sour, the ratio of sugar to fruit will approach 1, but not over. The dough recipe is the same I use for all my pies. I’ll list them here, but leave the technique there. (I just noticed that the post I link to doesn’t actually contain a recipe, it links to one. Dummy. I’ll type up a separate page for that soon.)

3 c flour (this one used 2 c whole wheat pastry and 1 c unbleached all-purpose)
~2 t sugar
~ 1 t salt
1.5 c butter (2.5 sticks), sliced and chilled
1 c ice water + 1 t vinegar (not all will be used, about half, if that)

2 c strawberry, hulled and chopped
≤ 1/4 c sugar
1 T cornstarch

Filling is always made beforehand (at least a day for me), so it has time to cool. It’s the same as with any cooked fruit: toss the fruit, cornstarch, and sugar in a saucepan with a few tablespoons of water, stir to combine, bring to a simmer, then turn down the heat to just under medium, and stir for 10-15 minutes. When done, it needs to be completely cool so it won’t melt the butter in the dough. Since I used the left over rhubarb filling from the danishes, I have some strawberry filling to use now. But, it’s always better to make more filling. I like cramming filling in to pastries if it can handle it, because I don’t like piddling, cheapskate amounts. Also, extra filling can be used for anything, whether eating plain, spreading on bread, filling other pastries, adding to yogurt or ice cream, making a blended beverage, etc.

The dough was rolled into a large rectangle and cut into rectangles 3.5″ x 4.5″. The scraps were gathered, combined, and rolled to cut again. All in all, I got 18 rectangles, good for nine pastries. Every single scrap was used. I put half the rectangles on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and brushed them with egg wash. Then I put about a tablespoon of fruit filling on the center of each, leaving about 1/2″ border on all sides, before covering with another rectangle, pressing then crimping the edges together to seal. When all were done, I put the baking sheets in the fridge for 15-20 minutes to chill, after which I brushed each top with egg wash, poked holes for steam, and sprinkled demerara sugar on some of them, then baked 20-22 minutes at 375º.

toaster pastry strawberry and rhubarb 4

I always like to include an intermediate, less presentational shot. I feel it signifies honesty and realism.

toaster pastry strawberry and rhubarb 3

Since it was two batches, it took about 45 minutes, which is about the same as a normal pie, if not less. But, unlike pie, you can start eating halfway in. If these last more than two days, I’ll be a bit shocked, at the very least congratulatory for not gorging myself.

On another note, someone’s quite content:

happy kitty 1

happy kitty 2

Leave a Reply

