Sammy the Seal

Lime and blueberry birthday cake

In delicious on Saturday, 23 June, 2012 at 23:53

lime blueberry cake cross-section 1

And again, in all its messy glory:

lime blueberry cake cross-section 2

My first assembled cake. A bit ramshackle, eh? All told, it’s a basic sponge cake, with lime mousse as filling and blueberry cream cheese frosting for the outside. The cake is the same one I did here, just doubled, as I wanted a thicker cake to make more layers. The accoutrements were as follows:

Blueberry cream cheese frosting:
2 8-oz. packages cream cheese, softened
8 T (1/2 c) butter, softened
2 c powdered sugar
1 1/4 c blueberries, crushed

I whipped the cream cheese, then whipped in the butter, then the powdered sugar, and then the blueberry.

Lime mousse:

1/2 c lime juice
< 1/2 c sugar
3 eggs
2-3 T butter
lime zest from however many limes it took to get 1/2 c juice

1 c whipping cream
1-2 T sugar

I constantly whisked the juice, sugar and eggs in a mixing bowl over an inch or so of simmering water on the stove for about 10-12 minutes, then, when it thickened, I strained it into another bowl and stirred in the butter (to take some of the acidic edge off) and zest. Then I let it cool a half hour or so before refrigerating it. (I actually made it a few days early to get a head start on this new adventure.) Then, come assembly day, I set the curd out on the counter a bit to warm up before whipping up the cream. I whipped about 3-5 minutes to get medium peaks (that held, obviously), then I emptied the curd down the side of the bowl and gently folded them together until there were no patches of white remaining, then I refrigerated.

The cake was sliced into three layers, about 1/2 inch thick, with layers of mousse in between. Then, I set it back into the fridge for 15-20 minutes, before coating with frosting. I had about 3/4 cup blueberries left from the two 6-oz. packages I had, so I made concentric rings with them on top. (Also, I had a little mousse left, so I put it in a couple of cute little ramekin dishes, nifty little snack portion.) Not the prettiest thing, my frosting was a bit thinner than I’d hoped. Well, you’ve got to start with layered cakes somewhere. It’s rather small, it couldn’t have been more than 4″ tall:

lime blueberry cake whole

There goes that thin frosting again, running off:

lime blueberry cake slice

So, hopefully I’ll learn how to slice cakes into even layers, and next time I flavor frosting with fresh fruit, I’ll remember to drain some of the juice after crushing it, or else cook it with cornstarch for a little bit before using it as flavoring. Darn, and I bought an expensive offset spatula to sculpt the cake with. Too bad my frosting more fluid than solid.

  1. […] is make-up for an ugly birthday cake I made two years ago, with lime and blueberry.  I wanted to include similar flavors, but it is cherry season. Lemon olive oil chiffon cake base, […]

Leave a Reply

