Sammy the Seal

Rosemary cheddar gougères

In delicious on Monday, 18 June, 2012 at 22:23

rosemary cheddar gougeres plate

Finally, non-dessert baked goods! Not the best photo, nor presentation, but man do they smell great. They taste almost as good, and that’s not a knock. It just smells really good baking up. It’s my first attempt at pâte à choux (cream puff pastry dough) and it wasn’t too bad. I mean, the product turned out pretty well, anyway. I forgot exactly how they went, but it’s not at all complex. I think this is pretty close:

1 c water
salt
pepper
1/4 – 1/2 t sugar
1/2 c butter, sliced thinly
1 c flour, sifted
4 eggs
1 1/4 – 1 1/2 c cheddar cheese, finely grated
1 T dried rosemary, crushed

I put the water, salt, pepper, sugar, and butter in a saucepan over high heat until it simmered, then turned the heat down to medium and dumped in the flour, stirring for a minute or so, until there the mix clumped together in a mass and there was a thin film of cooked flour on the bottom. Then I removed it from heat and transferred the mixture to a mixing bowl to stir and cool a little, before adding one egg at a time, at which point the mixture will break up, but I kept stirring until the mix became one mass again. After the last egg, I folded in the rosemary and one cup of the cheese, then I transferred it all into a piping bag and made little swirls that folded in on themselves, then brushed them with egg white to glaze and to smooth out the surface, before sprinkling the tops with the rest of the cheese. I baked for 22 minutes at 425º, until golden brown on top. Man, did it smell good while I waited. They’re best right out of the oven, but this made about 2.5 dozen, so obviously one can’t eat them all then. Great for sharing, though. They’re okay cold, but best hot. Like most baked goods with a crust, they lose a little crispness when re-heated, so I recommend an oven to do so.

Small, bite-size, fit in the palm of your hand. Trouble is they’re slight, so overeating is tempting. I ate about six or seven before putting them away for the evening.

rosemary cheddar gougeres pan

Leave a Reply

