Sammy the Seal

“Forget your past, this is your last chance”

In music videos, vinyl on Wednesday, 6 June, 2012 at 14:24

Hey, I had no idea there was a video for this! (I must be, ahem, “Losing My Edge”.) Actually, it’s more a short film than a video, due mainly to the fact the song is almost eight minutes long. So by default, actually, though not really: contrary to common practice with this kind of song length, the song is unedited for the video (as opposed to “All My Friends”, which is nearly as long a song). A very wonderful and pleasant surprise, no radio or single edit. I feel temporarily reassured and hopeful.

Aside from the Pinocchio reference which I just picked up on, in light of the adventures the robot gets into, it’s pretty clear that robot = James Murphy. Even with the robot conceit, the concept is pretty simple concept, not too kooky, and very effectively executed. The pace and tone of the video fits the song perfectly. Most notable and poignant for me is the robot leaving the party on the “forget your past…” line. I admit I get a teeny bit choked up at that fusion of image and song. Running a close second, though is the utterly charming and likely accidental wall collision at 6:50. If there were ever an obvious decision in the history of film and video editing, it would be leaving that in the final cut. And the very end, while slightly hokey and cute, is still sweet and uplifting.

Anyway, I’ve been taking some solace in This Is Happening (front-to-back solid album, their only in my opinion) very recently, and out of sheer curiosity and hopefulness, I find there is indeed a video. Yay.

I’ve done the lyrics before. Always a good, inspiring read. “…This is what you waited for, but under lights we’re all unsure, and so tell me: what would make you feel better?” Man, I love that bit.

Leave a Reply

