Sammy the Seal

“Hold me, don’t hold me….coax me, don’t coax me”

In vinyl, You're a kitty! on Wednesday, 9 May, 2012 at 13:38


Song: Celestica
Artist: Crystal Castles
Album: Crystal Castles (II)

Every time I hear that squeak (the first one is at 0:06, and especially at 3:36) it’s like the music player is skipping. I’m fooled for a split second. The first time I heard this, I didn’t quite believe it was Alice’s voice. It was a nice, mild surprise. (Sort of like hearing Kathleen Hanna’s yowls vs. her little voice.) Prettier, not as abrasive or bratty, and certainly more controlled. Indeed, the music is more clear, full, and expansive, and I think the extra focus and more varied sound makes this and the other songs on the album a lot more memorable than the debut. It doesn’t have the immediacy and punch like before, but they didn’t trade in all their edge (“Doe Deer”, anyone?), and besides, being grungy, irreverent, or offbeat for its own sake gets cute and tired but quick. A definite leap forward from the previous album.

Good beat, great chorus. Beautiful.

And beautiful:

cat in a sunny windowsill 1

cat in a sunny windowsill 2

I don’t mean to show off, we just haven’t been accustomed to this much sunlight in a long time. We’re enjoying it while it’s here.

Leave a Reply

