Sammy the Seal

“Let this be my annual reminder that we could all be something bigger”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 2 May, 2012 at 7:43


Song: Constructive Summer
Artist: The Hold Steady
Album: Stay Positive

Vague and merely conceptual, but it’s still a sight better of an alternative to “work at the mill and then you die.” I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels they’re playing out that way. Ever since I first heard this song about four years ago, whenever I hear this song about this time of year, coincidentally and not, I hope that this is the year the words “we’re gonna build something this summer” have real significance. For me, this song gets by more on effusiveness and energy (and the line “raise a toast to St. Joe Strummer: I think he might’ve been our only decent teacher”, which comes off a little too cool and potentially shameless, but still, the heart is in the right place) rather than melody, and actually it sounds best as a lead-in to “Sequestered In Memphis”, which is how they’re sequenced as the 1-2 tracks on the album, but I’m leaving it to stand alone, I think it can handle the spotlight.

It’s too early in the morning for something this rousing and charged, and surprising, given my general state of mind as of late, but sometimes you have to force the issue. Or you could just wait for the moment. And in the meantime, “work at the mill until you die.”

Nah, “we are our only saviors.”

Leave a Reply

