Sammy the Seal

Fig tart, honey cream cheese Greek yogurt filling

In delicious on Monday, 23 April, 2012 at 14:11

fig tart whole

Then, in the morning, it was time for dessert. (Dangling fig skin, 5 o’clock!) Cream cheese, Greek yogurt, and honey were whipped together for the filling, and figs were placed on top. The day before, some dried figs were re-hydrated in a small pot of boiling water (the heat was off once the boil was reached) and covered for a few hours, then sliced in half on the flattest axis and dabbed off and left to dry a little before placing on the chilled, set tart filling. This was so good, it’s been a while since I’ve made anything period, let alone something so delicious satisfying. And it was terribly easy.

The crust was the sweet one I’ve done before, but with more whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose, hence the color. I was going to do a half batch, but forgot, then I felt fortunate when I damaged the crust, and had enough to make a new one. I suppose that’s a common rule with food, to have more than you need than less. I’m pleased to say it came out splendidly. It was light yet very supportive of the toppings.

sweet tart crust

The filling was:
8 oz. cream cheese
2 c plain Greek yogurt (add a few extra T to counteract the honey, if desired)
4-5 T honey

It was whipped together by hand for a few minutes, then spread around in the crust, then chilled. Great flavor and texture, perfect dense, creamy consistency, with a little sheen as well. Barely sweetened, with the yogurt wonderfully complementing the figs. And a noticeable, but subtle honey flavor. Great in a tart, or for dipping stuff in, or eating with a spoon. Very pleased I was.

fig tart slice

  1. […] I said, I just wanted to feel like a success again, even if it was easy and I’ve done it before. I added a vanilla bean this time though. And obviously, I used nectarines and red plums. I had at […]

Leave a Reply

