Sammy the Seal

Pecan shortbread cookie

In delicious on Tuesday, 17 April, 2012 at 7:23

pecan shortbread

I ate a lot of salty today, so I needed a sweet snack. Maybe it’s having other things going on, but I’ve lost that baking feeling a little, and I really wanted to do something interesting. However, rather than think up something new, I thought of something simple I’ve already made, then I added some of the one-pound bag of pecans I bought in Texas.

1 1/3 c flour
1/3 c cornstarch
1/2 t baking powder
1/3 – 1/2 c pecans, finely chopped
10 T butter, room temperature
2/3 c powdered sugar
1 t vanilla

The oven was heated to 350°, then all ingredients were combined at once. Like with all doughs, I used my hands to mix, which I like. I had to do it for a few minutes to warm up the butter so it would soften and melt, allowing the dough to clump together into one smooth mass. It was probably a good five minutes of kneading in all to make sure it was a solid lump, so it can be rolled out. I spread the dough out onto a sheet of parchment paper, using the palms of my hands mostly , then breaking out the rolling pin near the end to smooth it out, to about 1/4″ thick. I guess I could have used my animal cookie cutters, but I forgot, and used my dough scraper to make boring squares. Oh well. Then collect the scraps and repeat: knead, roll, cut out, until the dough is used up. An inch of space between cookies is about right, they will grow a little. I baked 12-14 minutes, longer than the 8-10 it took last time. I presume it’s the pecan. They were still a bit soft upon removal, but I forgot how they firm up when cooled. They were chewy out of the oven, firm, dry, and crumbly after a half hour or so. I remember the surface of the cookies being smoother, as here the contour was a bit wrinkled. I’m guessing the pecans had something to do with that as well.

The first batch came out nicely cooked, but I thought I’d brown the second batch by leaving it in a few minutes longer. Partially because I forgot about them, but I think I just wanted some contrast. Dark and light, together. Both kinds are delicious. Buttery/fatty, but delicious.

Leave a Reply

