Sammy the Seal

“The way I feel tonight, I could die and I wouldn’t mind”

In music videos, vinyl on Thursday, 5 April, 2012 at 11:50


Song: Head On (Jesus & Mary Chain cover)
Artist: Pixies
Album: Trompe Le Monde

I knew there was something fishy about this. The sound is all Pixies, but once I started listening to the lyrics, it started to sound like a love song. Frank sounds weird singing “catching sparks off you, I get an electric charge from you.”  Now that I know it’s a cover, it makes sense. Even if the subject matter seems out of place for Pixies, there’s enough energy to make it almost believable coming from these guys. Almost, but not quite. Then again, I’d rather a love song be noisy, punchy, and enthusiastic, rather than clean, smooth, and insipid. (I like that word.) Burning or lukewarm? Gee, that’s a tough one.

I must admit that I assumed the original was generally slower, moodier, and less excitable, and more shoegaze-y in general. Whoops. This one’s got some urgency, for sure. Except for the noise factor, and the truncation (the Pixies version is about two minutes shorter), these aren’t that far off in style, which was a nice surprise. It’s good to be wrong now and then. From their album Automatic:

(It’s not just because I heard the cover first, but I like that it cut time, it’s more concise, without losing anything, I feel.)

Leave a Reply

