Sammy the Seal

“We had a time, oh what a time”

In celluloid, music videos, vinyl on Monday, 26 March, 2012 at 19:29

I think this song is the best one in the movie, it’s by far the most memorable (comparatively and personally/historically). Just on its own, it’s a great, sweet all-too-brief little number. It’s not just the nostalgia talking, it’s the warm songwriting and the gentle, comforting vocal tones. I dare you to listen to this and not smile and repeat the hooks. I always liked the animated mouth singing “why-yi-yi”, it was animated so strangely and goofily. Or maybe a disembodied mouth singing with a wide smile is inherently amusing.

Song: Are You Sleeping?
Artist: Harry Nilsson
Album: The Point

Why it cuts off at 2:18, I don’t know, but according to the album listing, that’s how long it is. I guess it just bleeds into the next track or something. Somehow, it actually doesn’t sound that jarring, despite the abrupt end. It must be magic. Well, maybe they could’ve faded it out a bit more smoothly. Evidently, Harry Nilsson had story credit on the movie, too. Story and songs, I had no idea he was so involved. I just remember knew he was the guy who did the songs, most notably this simplistic, innocent, playful, yet strangely wistful song. Gosh, I’m turning all soft now.

“Are you sleeping?
Can you hear me?
Do you know if I am by your side?
Does it matter if you hear me?
When the morning comes, I’ll be there by your side

And in the morning when I wake up
she may be telling me goodbye (la la la la)
And in the evening if we break up
I’m wondering why

There was a time we had a time, there was a time we had a time
There was a time, there was a time when you were mine
We had a time, we had a time, we had a time oh what a time
There was a time, there was a time when you were mine

And in the evening if we go out
night time will find us at the show (la la la la)
Oh, we may decide to stay inside
you never know

Are you sleeping?
Can you hear me?
Do you know if I am by your side?
Does it matter if you hear me?
When the morning comes I’ll be there by your side”

Leave a Reply

