Sammy the Seal

Me And My Green Blazing Arrow

In celluloid, music videos, vinyl on Sunday, 25 March, 2012 at 23:57


Song: Green Arrow
Artist: Yo La Tengo
Album: I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One

I can identify most of the songs in my library during the first few seconds, yet every time I hear this unassuming, ambient, evening-tinged bit of instrumental balm, I wonder what and who it is. I check– it’s hipster icons Yo La Tengo! Lovely nonetheless. The song title then results in word association, and I am led to another seminal animated film from childhood, The Point. It’s from 1971, so it was kinda trippy, but not too wacky. After all, they showed it on the Disney Channel, which is where I first saw it, Alan Thicke narrating in place of the original Ringo Starr. The animation is a bit crude and simple, it’s during the songs that the animation starts to go into outer space (except for the one below). But, it’s still grounded in a way, it doesn’t feel psychedelic and indulgent. I don’t know too much about Harry Nilsson, but he did some pretty good songs for this. Did someone say “arrow”? (Yeah, I did.)


Song: Blazing Arrow
Artist: Blackalicious
Album: Blazing Arrow

Memorable enough that Blackalicious sampled it for a title track. Yes, it was pretty cool to hear the first time. Nice use of it too, and I’m not saying that because of nostalgia. It works well.

Leave a Reply

