Sammy the Seal

Oat + walnut flax muffins

In delicious, You're a kitty! on Wednesday, 21 March, 2012 at 10:07

oat walnut flax muffin

I know, these aren’t much different from the ones I did before, but for a change of pace, and because I didn’t want to shell out for a big jar of applesauce to replace butter in the recipe, I thought of making my own apple sauce/purée.

1.5 c whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 c brown sugar
1/2 c + a little extra milled flaxseed
1/2 t salt
1.5 t baking soda
cinnamon
1 t vanilla
2 eggs, whisked
1/2 c Pink Lady apple, peeled, cored, and puréed (about one apple)
2/3 c milk
old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 c raw walnut, chopped

Fresh apple is too firm to make purée (or else my blender is weak), so to make the purée, I first had to soften the apple a bit first, by cutting it up into bits and cooking it a tablespoon or two of water on medium-high for about five minutes. Then it went into the blender. In one bowl, I combined all the dry ingredients, and in another I combined the wet ingredients. I stirred them both just until there was no loose flour, then I poured the batter into a double muffin pan, each cup about 3/4 full, and sprinkled nuts and oats on top. I baked at 375 for 20 minutes.

oat walnut flax pan

 

Not terribly sexy looking, but that’s brown for you. I didn’t notice much difference with the fresh apple, but at least I can say I used fresh. So I have that as a selling point. Also, I think I just wanted some sweets, but it wasn’t sweet enough. Then again, 1/2 cup of sugar is really low for a batch, so it’s my own fault. The next ones are getting a grape glaze, that’s for sure.

Also, I love my angel. She’s so cool and pretty.

kitty with arm out 1

kitty with arm out 2

kitty with arm out 3

kitty with arm out 4

kitty with arm out 5

Leave a Reply

