Sammy the Seal

Homemade sauce-less pizza

In delicious on Monday, 19 March, 2012 at 14:31

Since I finally got the yeast to work for the cheese bread, pizza dough was next. This stuff is so good and so much cheaper to make on your own, and more satisfying, as long as you not lazy.

3 c King Arthur® bread flour
½ t active dry yeast proofed in 1 T barely warm water
1 c barely warm water
½ – ¾ t salt
6 T olive oil

Once the yeast wass proofed/bubbly and foamy, I combined it with the water and flour with a wooden spoon, then by hand since I don’t have a fancy machine, and because I like to do it that way. I then added the salt, and kneaded it until it held into one mass. Then I added the oil, and used the dough hooks that came with my hand mixer on medium to high, until it all held together, 5-8 minutes. Then I kneaded the dough with my hands a little more until it was smooth and round. The dough is supposed to be translucent when you stretch a little bit of it out. Then I rounded the dough and placed it back in the mixing bowl and covered it with plastic wrap, leaving it to rise. My apartment is old and crappy (and therefore cold) so I turned on the heater in my bedroom and stored it in there. Since I had an open pouch of yeast from making the first batch, I went ahead and made another batch, with all-purpose flour instead of bread flour. I don’t think I did anything different, but it didn’t seem to rise as high. The bread flour dough seemed to triple in volume (before I punched it down), the all-purpose dough only seemed to double. All in all, it took about four hours, but I just wanted it to rise high.

The dough is enough to make two thin crust pizzas, but I went ahead and used the whole batch just because. (I think I just didn’t want to have a lot of dough lying about.) I’ll show below how high it all rose. Then I lightly brushed oil on a round pan and put the dough on, very gently and deliberately stretching the dough out with my hands. This required some patience, as the dough was elastic and would shrink back a little with each push. It probably took me close to ten minutes. When that was done, it was topping preparation time:

olive oil for sautéing and brushing
block of mozzarella cheese
roma tomato, sliced
zucchini, green bell pepper, red chili pepper, all chopped
crushed garlic

All vegetables, minus garlic, were sautéed in oil on medium-low heat for 5-10 minutes. Oil was brushed on the crust, then 6 or 7 slices of cheese were placed on, followed by tomato, sautéed veggies, garlic, and finally coarsely shredded cheese.

homemade pizza raw
I baked at 500º for 15 minutes. I don’t have a fancy pizza stone, yet I thought it came out just great. I usually prefer New York style crust, but my typical self-criticism was nowhere to be found– I was too proud of it.
homemade pizza cooked
Note: when adapting from another recipe, always read it thoroughly, keeping that the writer may be incorrect. I adapted this from my cookbook, which said only 3/4 cup water for the dough, which was way too dry. That’s a 4:1 flour to water ratio, and most recipes I consequently looked up have, at most, 3:1, if not 2.5:1 or even 2:1, which would make for some sticky dough. (Messy, but sounds like a good challenge.) The book said the dough would be moist, so I’m thinking they meant 1 3/4 cup, not 3/4 cup. Perhaps more water makes the dough easier to roll out? Hm, sounds like a good experiment.
Leave a Reply

