Sammy the Seal

Fruit juice oatmeal

In delicious on Sunday, 11 March, 2012 at 22:40

It seems simple enough, and yet the idea never crossed my mind in all my life. A healthy co-worker suggested a few weeks ago, she’d cook oats with apple juice instead of water so she didn’t need to add any sugar or flavoring– it’s all in the liquid. The ratio is the same, two parts liquid to one part old-fashioned oats, more for thinner, less for thicker. It must be done on the stove though. I tried it in the microwave on my first attempt and it the bowl started smoking/steaming. Not that it takes long going stovetop, only five minutes or so, if you have any shred of patience. Instant gratification types might be tested.

From there, it was a matter of trying different juices. I’m a snob, so I try to use 100% juice, not that it’s hard to come by cheaply. I just don’t like paying for extra water and syrup. It may be obvious, but whatever juice you pick, your oatmeal will taste exactly like that. The flavor does not boil away or lighten.  For example, using grapefruit juice will produce sour, bitter oatmeal. I’m not sure why I was surprised, I just thought it would be a cool idea. So pick one you like. The apple was pretty good, and I’ve heard that cranberry worked about well, too. My favorite so far is grape juice. It’s sweet and delicious and grape-y, and purple. I had a bowl today, and I enjoyed it.

However, I wasn’t about to take a photo– I ate it too quickly, and also, it’s just purple mush. Purple, prosaic mush.

Leave a Reply

