Sammy the Seal

Carrot cake muffins, daisies

In delicious on Friday, 9 March, 2012 at 11:41

carrot muffin with daisy 1

I quite like how easily cakes, and fruit and vegetable breads, can easily be made into muffins. You get a self-contained snack without use of cutlery, in half the time or less. I had no applesauce for these, which would’ve been great, but I didn’t want to needlessly add heart clog with butter. So I used canola oil. I’ve always had an inexplicable resistance to using oil in cake/muffin batter, which is stupid, because, applesauce or other fruit purée aside, it’s healthier, not to mention less costly, than butter, which is all saturated fat and doesn’t add anything essential, as my taste buds tell me. It was midnight, so I didn’t feel like staying up to make a batch of cream cheese frosting, which is just as well, since it has a half stick of butter in it, and I’m trying to find ways around using so much in baking.

1.5 c brown sugar
2 eggs
¼ c less 2 T oil
¼ c plus 2 T orange juice
½ t vanilla
¼ t salt
cinnamon
allspice
nutmeg
cardamom (accidentally, I splashed it in before realizing it wasn’t allspice)
1.5 c flour
1 t baking soda
1.5 c shredded carrot, squeezed and/or patted dry

Beat the sugar and eggs until smooth. Beat in oil, juice, vanilla, salt, and spices. Sift in flour and soda, stir until no dry flour remains. Stir in shredded carrot. Pour into double muffin pan (one pan placed inside another, if you have multiple). Bake for 20-23 minutes at 350º, toothpick test and such.

The daisies were on the counter when I got back Monday, I thought they contributed a complementary, welcome non-brown presence to the photo. So close you can almost see inside the holes:

carrot muffin with daisy 2

Leave a Reply

