Sammy the Seal

“I’ve got a tigress back at home and, besides, you wouldn’t know what to do with me”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 7 March, 2012 at 10:18


Song: Bunny Ain’t No Kind Of Rider
Artist: Of Montreal
Album: Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?

Damn you, hooks, leave me be! Hear the chorus and you’ll understand my captivity. On the first few listens, the first 1:30 doesn’t stand out as anything spectacular. And then the chorus. As if the first, softer iteration of the refrain isn’t enough, the sweet little two-beat drum fill drops the second iteration on you, with the hot staccato guitar clang and brighter harmonies to make absolutely sure your puny, unworthy brain gets it. Every single instrument (the voice counts too) on the chorus has its own hook. I couldn’t fit it in the headline, but the refrain itself is one big lyrical hook. It’s pretty undeniably awesome:

“Eva, I”m sorry, but you will never have me
To me, you’re just some faggy girl,
and I need a lover with soul power

and you ain’t got no soul power!”

It’s a special chorus, not just because it’s the most memorable part, but because after you hear it, all the non-chorus melodies and lines makes more sense and become more accessible. At first, you’re sort of just waiting for the song to move along so you can hear the chorus, but you learn to enjoy the rest as much. I mean, now, even after hearing this song many times, I am lulled and go through the intro and first verse thinking how not-bad-pretty-okay it is, and then pow! It really does makes the song.

I nominate the chorus/refrain of this song for the all-time pantheon.

Leave a Reply

