Sammy the Seal

Fainting spells in New York City

In experience, vinyl on Thursday, 1 March, 2012 at 16:47


Song: Fainting Spells
Artist: Crystal Castles
Album: Crystal Castles (II)

This song is great for switching subways, though it likely sounded good because also felt good just to step on one again. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t had a real vacation in two years, or because I hadn’t been to New York in three years, I must admit that it felt really fucking good to be here again. Even if only to frantically run errands for less than four hours before shipping off to my sister, and in a couple of days, to Boston. Stepping onto the A at Howard Beach brought back a welcome and familiar, yet weird feeling, almost like I hadn’t left. It was cool to hear the “stand clear of the closing doors, please” guy greet me. The only bummer was that the pizza joint at 33rd and 9th that sold slices of cheese pizza for $1 and whole cheese pies for $5 is no longer there (not that I saw, but maybe I was rushing too quickly). Sucks, because I’ve been running on almost no food for the last twelve hours. By the time I made it to Grand Central for a northbound train, I was finally starting to feel the effects of carrying things up and down stairs with no fuel but half a Clark bar in the tank. A little lightheadedness and fatigue, but no fainting.

And yet, even though I was lugging around my laptop and carry-on and pounds of Economy Candy candy all over and up and down stairways, I still felt grateful. The day or two before I left home, I was stressing out a little about what a hectic, restless day it would be. It was, but not in a bad way like I had thought. More like natural.

Leave a Reply

