Sammy the Seal

“I’m still the mack”

In experience, vinyl on Saturday, 25 February, 2012 at 21:09


Song: Hotwax
Artist: Beck
Album: Odelay

I forgot that line came from groovy “Hotwax”, I was just going to use it as a link to the t-shirt. Awesome rhythm, great random moments, like the accordion between the first and second verses, and The Enchanting Wizard Of Rhythm, and memorable guitar lines and tones, like the ones that open. No wonder everyone likes Odelay!

mack shirt

As long as I’m reminiscing, I thought this shirt would fit right in. It’s from a computer game we played as kids, Hard Hat Mack. Pops used to be a computer programmer back in the early 1980s, so we got on the home computer train well over a decade before home computers started to become commonplace. It was kinda cool to get in on it so early, we got to see exactly how far the technology has come. So, thanks, dad! As you will see in the videos, the copyright is 1984. I don’t think we had it quite so early, but I had no idea the game had been out a few years by the time we got our hands on it. So that’s the backstory. Then, quite a few years back, my younger sister had this shirt made for and sent to me as a birthday present. I don’t wear it much, but one of the primary reasons is because I want to preserve it. I hope it never falls apart.

Samples of the game are below (run on emulators of course), two videos demonstrating gameplay, and one with fun audio commentary, done by famous, fabulous Youtube “Let’s Play” authors hercrabbiness and LateBlt. As you see in the intro, the antagonists are someone from OSHA and some weird creature named Vandal. I assume it’s human, though it doesn’t look so up close. I’m happy with my shirt, but I would have been just as happy with an OSHA or Vandal shirt. Oh man, if only action shirts were possible, I could have OSHA waving his fists in the air like in the game.

This is the PC version, which is what I had. The visuals are the same, though the sound effects, of course, aren’t exactly the same:

This one shows more levels of gameplay, though it’s the Commodore 64 version, so the colors and sound quality are different. The author of the video doesn’t show it, but at the end of the third level, you start back at the first, and I think the game speed increases is all:

And finally, the fun version. It’s great to hear hercrabbiness’ frustration, as LateBlt finds it amusing as well, so I don’t feel bad for laughing at her. The sad/cute thing is, she never gets the hang of it, all ten minutes of the video are spent playing the first level! 🙂

Leave a Reply

