Sammy the Seal

“We’re chained to the life, but…our blood is alive”

In music videos, vinyl on Friday, 24 February, 2012 at 4:16


Song: Shine A Light
Artist: Wolf Parade
Album: Apologies To The Queen Mary

Late night emotional downpour and exposition, fortunately into a calm, sensitive ear. But now that that’s done, no time to wallow, no time to be scared, just keep going. And this is the song that succeeded it all. Desperate and resigned, but still it punches forward. To this day, a great album that goes especially well as a night time listen, best taken with cool, outdoor air. It doesn’t necessarily mean it’s dark music, in fact, many of the songs are quite a kick.

Thanks to the hype, surprisingly, I got in on the ground floor with this band. I have fairly distinct memories of buying this album, in my wonderfully located (at the time) apartment on First Hill, without first hearing it in October 2005, due almost entirely to the hype (it was all about them and Arcade Fire that year), but feeling not too impressed on the first listens. I picked it up a few months later and immediately saw the light. Like most other people, this song eased me into it, being more straightforwardly accessible, lovable, and rockin’. I grew to love other songs a lot more, but this song helped hold the door open. Spencer’s backing “oh”s and “ooh”s are great, you can hear them even better in this high-quality video below. Looks and sounds like a fun time, Spencer hitting notes with his sexy headband.

Lyrics entirely subject to question, Dan doesn’t make it too easy. The video is a good reference tool, though Dan is known to mangle the lyrics due to alcohol, so who’ll ever know:

“I keep my head uptight
I make my plans at night
and I don’t sleep, I don’t sleep, I don’t sleep ’til it’s light
Some ghosts float and some are buried alive

There is an awful sound
in this haunted town
and it will not, it will not, it will not just be quiet
Some ghosts sink, some will get called to the light

I spend boring hours
in the office tower
In a bus on a bus back home to you and
that’s fine, I’m barely alive

It’s just a matter of time
no one gets out alive
and I’m content, I’m content, I’m content to be quiet
Some sink, some will get called to the light

Do you know why our hearts beat time out very slowly?
Do you know why our hearts beat time?
They’re waiting for something that’ll never arrive

I keep my head on tight
I make my plans at night
and I don’t sleep, I don’t sleep, I don’t sleep ’til it’s light
Some ghosts float and some are someone buried alive

We both are little birds, we built another world
but we’re chain- chain- chain- chain- chained to the life
But that’s fine– our blood is alive

Do you know why our hearts beat time out very slowly?
Do you know why our hearts beat time?
They’re waiting for something that’ll never arrive”

Leave a Reply

