Sammy the Seal

“Oh, noose….”

In vinyl, You're a kitty! on Saturday, 11 February, 2012 at 15:38


Song: Talking Shit About a Pretty Sunset
Artist: Modest Mouse
Album: This Is a Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About

Nifty opening line, there. A theme song for anyone who’s ever had an active, highly analytical, self-aware brain, or any combination of the three. Genuinely beautiful and depressing. It begins with a rather easygoing lope, but finishes in a splendid and gradually more frantic and restless (hopeful, even?) coda. Anything that pretty and spirited can’t be so hopeless.

“Oh noose,
tied myself in, tied myself too tight

Looking kinda anxious in your cross-armed stance,
like a bad-tempered prom queen at a homecoming dance
And I claim I’m not excited with my life anymore,
so I blame this town, this job, these friends– the truth is it’s myself
I try to understand myself and pinpoint who I am;
when I finally get it figured out, I’ve changed the whole damn plan

Oh noose,
tied myself in, tied myself too tight

Talking shit about a pretty sunset,
blanketing opinions that I’ll probably regret soon
Changed my mind so much, I can’t even trust it,
my mind changed me so much, I can’t even trust myself”

It sure does feel lazy, for a Saturday. I think it’d be nice to have an organism larger than oneself to curl up on or stretch along or across now and again…..

lazy kitty 1

lazy kitty 2

lazy kitty 3

lazy kitty 4

Leave a Reply

