Sammy the Seal

Jeopardy– “Our love’s in” vs “I lost on”

In funny ha ha, music videos, vinyl on Monday, 6 February, 2012 at 23:58

What a weird little video. Don’t knock the visuals and effects, it’s from 1983, on a music video budget to boot. I’ve read from people older than me that it was a li’l creepy back then. Imaginative, at least. And the song ain’t that bad either, 80s aside– a little groovy and kinda catchy. Being only 5 years old at the time, music wasn’t really on my radar. I’d only known the Weird Al version, years after it had been out, and wondered what the heck song that parodied, as I knew most of the originals. I wonder how it escaped me for so long, I’d never even heard of the Greg Kihn Band for the longest time, maybe they were only around early-to-mid 80s. Somehow musical and cultural osmosis failed me. Who would have though Al tearing off a piece of wood from the podium had any significance? And, in case the wink doesn’t make it obvious, that’s good sport Greg Kihn at the end of Al’s video. (Hell, I didn’t know when I first saw it, but, then, I had no idea of him or the original video.)

Leave a Reply

