Sammy the Seal

“I need to climb you like a tree”

In music videos, vinyl on Saturday, 4 February, 2012 at 23:58


Song: You Make Me Feel Like A Whore
Artist: Everclear
Album: Sparkle And Fade

Bake, photograph, write, upload, ugh, too much of that lately. Just a good rock song here, from back in the day– the 1990s. It’s not just high school nostalgia, mostly I like the song. “Santa Monica” was bigger, if I recall, though I prefer this one, it’s more fun and rock. It’s always sounded good, I’ve listened to it since it came out in 1995 or whenever, and since, I listen to it now and again, and it doesn’t date a bit, not to me. It’s got some verve, but it’s not flashy, and the guitars and drums are quite simple, rudimentary, even, but effective nonetheless.

Ah, the video days of MTV. I know “alternative” hasn’t aged too well, but christ, at least the music was playing. Buzz Bin, 120 Minutes, etc. Hell, even MTV2 was decent (initially). Simple video concept, and yet it’s the same dorky beats and moments that make me smile still, like the facial takes at 1:28, 2:16, 2:38, 2:52, the defiant “someday” at 1:38, or the assistant manager saying “…like a whore” at 1:44. And so colorful! Oh, 90s….

Leave a Reply

