Sammy the Seal

Butter-less cinnamon cocoa raisin banana bread

In delicious on Friday, 27 January, 2012 at 14:07

In ascending order of ingredient prevalence. After the disappointments for easy concoctions of last week (excuse: I was ill, hence I was distracted), I feel good and proud to make something mostly successful, especially when trying something new. It’s not too drastic a change, I’d just been wanting to replace butter with applesauce for a while, save my heart some trouble in the future. But, baking relies on a balance of lipids, carbohydrates, waters, emulsifiers, etc., so you can’t go willy-nilly in taking out something as prominent as fats, blind to possible effects. That being said, I might make my quick fruit breads this way from now on. The replacement was made 1:1, with a little more soda thrown in due to the increase of fruit and, consequently, acid, with the rest being a kitchen sink approach that I usually refrain from– cocoa (I had a teeny amount to get rid of, which was bugging me, since I don’t use choco too often, for personal reasons), cinnamon (why not?), raisins (I didn’t have any nuts, and also, why not?). Except for the one cup of sugar, this is pretty damn healthy, and I didn’t notice much of a difference in taste– i.e., I didn’t miss the butter one bit. And here I’ve been, for years, suffering and subjecting others to chest pains for nothing!

3 bananas, mashed good
1 egg, beaten
1/2 c applesauce
2/3 c mixed jumbo raisins (bigger ones chopped in half)
1.5 c, less 2 T, flour
2 T cocoa powder
1.5 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/2 superfine sugar
1/2 c brown sugar

In one bowl, stir the banana, egg, applesauce, and raisins. In another, sift together the flour, cocoa, soda, and cinnamon, then mix the sugar into the flour mixture. Stir the dry ingredients into the moist just until no loose flour remains. Bake in a loaf pan at 350° for 70 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I was quite afraid that the added water in the applesauce might result in gooey innards and that I’d regret not adding a little more flour because of all the moisture, and that I’d have to leave it in longer (normal bake time is 55-60), which would in turn increase the risk of a tough crust, but fortunately, all turned out fine. If you like moist bread, this is for you, though I personally would add a little more flour. The bread came out darker than I expected, I guess two tablespoons cocoa is enough. Because of that, the final product is not terrible photogenic, just lots of brownness with raisins interspersed. But it’s tasty, that’s the best you can hope for.

banana raisin cocoa cinnamon sliced 1

banana raisin cocoa cinnamon sliced 2

banana raisin cocoa cinnamon slices 1

banana raisin cocoa cinnamon slices 2

Leave a Reply

