Sammy the Seal

“Things that seem so silly now once were everything I ever thought about”

In vinyl on Friday, 20 January, 2012 at 14:31


Song: All My Promises
Artist: The Mr. T Experience
Album: …And The Women Who Love Them EP

Unpolished? You could say that. Imperfect vocals and limited range? Technically, yes. Cleverly turned phrases? Yes, but who doesn’t try to be cute now and again? Fortunately, good, sincere writing shines and vindicates all. Dr. Frank’s voice is admittedly undistinguished and unsexy, but I’ll be damned if he couldn’t pen a memorable tune and honest lyrics when he wanted to. Uncomplicated as the sonic aesthetics of pop-punk may be, I’ll take a snappy song, with a bit of verve, over some quietly sung and played confessional style. Hell, it’s more uplifting at the very least, regardless of the subject matter.

Three things I’d like to note: the small, barely-there guitar flourishes in the second verse, the extremely subtle backing vocals on the “I’ve used up all my promises…” at the end of the second verse, and theĀ harmonic echoes in the second stanza of each verse.

“I guess I should say thanks for having me
Now that I’ve been had, what have we got?
Something that survives
casts a shadow on our lives,
turns our promises to lies and second thoughts

We’ve got a lot of time to think it over (over)
to re-adjust our expectations even lower (lower)
I suppose we’ll think it over ’til we think it’s over (over)
I still think about you all the time

I guess I’ll straight out as everything progresses
I guess one day I’ll know what I’m supposed to do
From now on, I have to go on guesses
’cause I’ve used up all my promises on you

I wonder why I’m still waiting here
trying to turn everything around
and piece together how
things that seem so silly now
once were everything I ever thought about

You’d go crazy if you tried to take it all in (all in)
How far we’ve come, as opposed to how far we’ve fallen (fallen)
I wonder how long it’ll be ’til we start to call them (call them)
things we used to think long ago?

Whether they are failures or successes,
one day I’ll figure out what I’m supposed to do
But ’til then I have to go on guesses
’cause I’ve used up all my promises on you
yeah, I’ve used up all my promises on you”

Leave a Reply

