Sammy the Seal

“Yulia” revisited

In music videos, vinyl on Wednesday, 18 January, 2012 at 23:07

It’s a bit of a cheat to do a song I’ve already done, but the topic of space come up and also, I don’t think I had the lyrics up last time, which is the point here. I don’t need nor do I like when things/lyrics follow in a straight line and make perfect, nice, clean sense. I like having room for interpretation, as I find comfort in not knowing everything. On a similar note, music videos with slavish, literal representations of the lyrics stink– imagination, please. This here is an exception to both. The song alone is great, possibly my favorite thing they’ve ever done, but if you know the story of the lyrics, it’s sad enough on its own. But then, I’ll be damned if the literal dramatization of the video isn’t absolutely heartbreaking. Nothing much to get, just a cosmonaut who gets lost in space on a mission and spends his last moments thinking about his girl. Great little short story. Very affecting.

“Diamonds in the face of night time
Watch them as they float along
I was up there floating with them
And you know that I was gone
The radio sings a patriot song, it’s a devil that you know

Yulia

We were standing on the platform
Favored (favorite?) sons of history
While you’re back in Prostronaya
Writing in your diary
They flip one switch at mission, and I’m never coming home

Yulia

(Oh oh) I woke up from a fever dream
(Oh oh) of floating in a salty sea
I’m stranded up here
Drifting along
And my heart beats slow
And I hope they bring my body back

Yulia

So when they turn the cameras on you
Baby, please don’t speak of me
Point up to the dark above you
As they edit me from history
I’m 20 million miles from my comfortable home, and space is very cold

Yulia

There’s nothing out here, nothing out here”

Leave a Reply

