Sammy the Seal

Lemon ginger scones for penance

In delicious on Sunday, 15 January, 2012 at 14:01

lemon ginger scones 2This is more like it. I remembered the sugar this time! Scones, nothing special, I’ve done them a few times before, but in a way, these were better than any I’ve done. Mine usually come out dry and dense, a little crumbly, these came out a little lighter, and very tender and soft, but with greater volume. The main difference is that there was more liquid in the batter/dough, which I’m guessing aids in leavening due to the steam. I used:

2.5 c flour
just under 1/2 c sugar
4 t baking powder
1/4 c candied/crystallized ginger, well-minced
1/2 c butter (one stick)
1/2 c milk
1 egg, beaten
zest and juice of one lemon (about 1/4 c)
demerara sugar, for garnish

The flour, sugar, baking powder, and ginger were combined, then the butter was added in slices and worked into the flour with fingertips until small beads are formed. Then, I added the milk, egg, and lemon, keeping the milk and juice separate until adding it to the flour, so as not to curdle the milk (if that made any difference). Then I mixed it all with my hands, as, in the past, the dough had been dry enough to do so, though next time I’ll use a spoon, as the dough was quite moist and sticky. Not too much mixing, only until there is no dry flour hanging around. The consistency of the dough made the roll-out/cut-out process messier, I should’ve floured the counter and rolling pin a bit better. Once cut out and arranged, I sprinkled each piece with demerara sugar, for show, and baked at 400° for fifteen minutes. Just after they came out, a couple of people passing through complimented on the aroma of the kitchen. That was nice.

As you can see by the shadow, I had light issues. It’s hard to tell with this one, but these were considerably thicker than I normally get. A few of them even approached, if not reached, an inch. Best when warm and soft.

lemon ginger scones 1

 

Leave a Reply

