Sammy the Seal

“But if you could just see the beauty…”

In vinyl on Monday, 12 December, 2011 at 21:00


Song: Isolation
Artist: Joy Division
Album: Closer

I woke this morning, then stayed in bed about half an hour, not snoozing, but wondering why I should go in to work today. It wasn’t at all dread, though. Having then spent most of the day detached and distant, I thought about this song (title), though well-aware that the music was not at all mope-worthy. In fact, it’s danceable! That cool bass line and the tinny-but-peppy synths are anything but isolationist. The lyrics may be, but the vocals sure aren’t just standing around either. Maybe, he’s even celebrating it in a way, despite the following: “mother, I tried, please believe me/I’m doing the best that I can/I’m ashamed of the things I’ve been put through/I’m ashamed of the person I am.” The concept of isolation has a negative connotation, but for people with an imagination, it can be quite liberating and relaxing. I couldn’t help but smile and laugh at my incongruity, so I went with it.

My highly detailed eye would like to make special mention of and award bonus points for the awesome video game noise at 1:41 and recognize its essential inclusion in the song (thereby contradicting the notion of “bonus points”). It’s all in the details.

Leave a Reply

