Sammy the Seal

“There’s nothing else I wanna try”

In vinyl on Tuesday, 6 December, 2011 at 22:42


Song: Reasons
Artist: Built to Spill
Album: There’s Nothing Wrong With Love

I could’ve gone with a couple other songs, but I chose this subdued, slacker-ish love-ish song, in all its lazy, loping loveliness. It’s atypical for the subject matter, but it’s still kinda sweet. Love songs can’t all be saccharine, precious, and simplistic. I don’t want to sound too indie, but I never really recognized how good this album is, track by track. I usually skip songs– I must’ve been mysteriously receptive today. Listened to it two or three times at work, actually, and again while baking goodies. Sometimes the mood hits you, I suppose.

I was introduced to BtS by a huge hipster about six or seven years ago, we worked together in The Market; we were fortunate to be able to listen to music at work. His music selection was a bit hipper-than-thou at times, but nonetheless I was introduced, however prematurely, to some worthwhile artists, so I’m not complaining. Hey, however you find music, even belatedly.

Leave a Reply

