Sammy the Seal

Pâte sucrée vs. shortbread 

In delicious on Thursday, 1 December, 2011 at 23:58

pâte sucrée

shortbread cookie

So now that I’d actually eaten both, I retract my “shortbread is better” statement. It all depends on what you’re in the mood for. I thought the former was too plain, certainly in appearance, but in retrospect, the sweet, salty, buttery overload of the latter made me appreciate the subtlety of the smooth, plain white cookies. It has the same exact ingredients as shortbread, but almost half as much butter, a third less sugar, and egg. And half cake flour. The texture was certainly smoother, and yet, they were not dry nor too crumbly, with good firmness. Perhaps the magic of cake flour again? Despite the name, they weren’t that sweet. It’s just that it’s sweet for pie pastry dough (1/2 c sugar as opposed to 2 t). I certainly didn’t feel guilty about eating more than one. Light taste, but satisfying.

Which is not to say the shortbread wasn’t delicious. Flaky (for a cookie), and a little salty too. Very, very rich. I splashed a little cinnamon in the batter, and on top before baking (those dark spots), along with some turbinado sugar crystals. Good to indulge in on occasion, and I did have my share, but I did try to pawn off as much as possible– if you eat too many or too often, don’t be surprised if you come down with chest pains. (For a moment today, I actually felt I had, but perhaps it was a psychosomatic response.)

  1. […] like my new tart pans. So I used a different dough, instead of the flaky pie one. I’ve made it before, but into cookies. The dough process is quicker and easier than with standard flaky pie dough, and, […]

Leave a Reply

