Sammy the Seal

“Catch your shut-eye in my room”

In vinyl on Thursday, 1 December, 2011 at 0:22


Song: Soft Shock
Artist: Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Album: It’s Blitz

So much for going to bed early. I’d blame it on the shortbread cookies, but who am I kidding, it’s my fault. Besides, I can’t blame them, as they turned out great. Better than the pâte sucrée I made Tuesday. In the meantime,  Karen O’s “ch”, “hah”, “ta”, “cha” and other assorted vocalizations that have no true spelling are here again, thank goodness. They’re essentially vocal filler, but I think they makes the song that much better. I’m trying to imagine it without them, and it sounds too plain. Way less stilted than her sassy/saucy/bratty demeanor from their earliest stuff, which always seemed like an affectation and a half to me. I like the tossed-off, subtle informality of it all.

Ch!

Leave a Reply

