Sammy the Seal

“I don’t care what you want, I want to marry you”

In vinyl on Sunday, 27 November, 2011 at 21:05


Song: Marry Me
Artist: St. Vincent
Album: Marry Me

Lovely, light as air, playful, and a bit wry, for good measure. (Also, jingle bells for good measure.) I suppose the amount of irony contained is up to the listener, though I think any lyrics that are so straightforward tend to have twisted, if not completely ironic, undertones. I like the use of handclaps on the choruses (chori?), especially the restraint shown on the first couple. They’re not spilled on every beat like one would expect or hope for, they’re constantly dropped, just like the beat. But then, towards the end, they’re everywhere. You can’t always get what you want immediately, it’s important to wait sometimes. Annie Clark may seem like a tease, but she’s trying to teach us life lessons before she gives in. Or, she’s just trying to mix it up musically.

“Marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so good to you
you won’t realize I’m gone
marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so sweet to you
you won’t realize I’m gone, you won’t realize I’m gone

Many people wanna make money, make love, make friends, make peace with death
but most mainly want to win the game they came to win, they want to come out ahead
but you, you’re a rock with a heart like a socket I can plug into at will
and will you guess, when I come around next, I hope your ‘open’ sign is blinking still

So marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so good to you
you won’t realize I’m gone
marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so good to you
you won’t realize I’m gone, you won’t realize I’ve gone

As for me, I would have to agree I’m as fickle as a paper doll
being kicked by the wind, when I’ve touched down again, I’ll be in someone else’s arms

Oh John, come on
we’ll do what do what married people do
Oh John, come on (I don’t care what you want, I want to marry you)
let’s do what Mary and Joseph did without the kid (I want to marry you)

So marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so good to you
you won’t realize I’ve gone
marry me, John
marry me, John, I’ll be so good to you
you won’t realize I’ve gone, you won’t realize I’ve gone
you won’t realize I’ve gone”

Leave a Reply

