Sammy the Seal

“I am a creature, and I am surviving”

In vinyl on Sunday, 13 November, 2011 at 23:58


Song: Us Ones In Between
Artist: Sunset Rubdown
Album: Shut Up I Am Dreaming

“I want to be alone, but I want your body”

Nice couplet. I must admit I’m cheating a bit here. Pick a song so good it resists deconstruction, analysis or explanation, that way you don’t have to write much. Essentially, all music-related blogging operates like this: the songwriter puts in the time, effort, and, in many cases, talent, and the non-songwriter tells us what he or she thinks about it. Pretty sweet deal!

That being said, I think this song is wonderful. Those plinking piano and xylophone keys during the last 35 seconds are quite lovely. Didn’t I buy this album when I was still living in New York? Well, I at least remember standing in the Virgin Megastore and contemplating buying at. Ah, more N.Y. memories.

Leave a Reply

