Sammy the Seal

“Will I ever get better?”

In music videos, vinyl on Monday, 24 October, 2011 at 21:45


Song: The One I Want
Artist: Green Day
Album: 1,000 Hours EP (later compiled on 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours)

Ah, another laugh at my expense. This is the opposite of that neutral Thermals-related memory, this being from a general period but with a specific significance. Back when I was a barely legal young pup, at the end of the century, I was into some Lookout Records stuff, Green Day’s pre-Reprise stuff included. After having heard this a few times, I dedicated this song to my future wife. I imagined it would be somehow connected to the marriage, like I’d play it at the wedding, or I would have it in the background when I proposed to her. Ridiculous sentimentalism, eh? I think I can be forgiven for my silliness, though, as I was as yet untempered by life experience or by independence. The song’s not bad, but it is rather schmaltzy, hence my then-embrace of it as a future romantic signpost. I shouldn’t knock it, it’s still a decent song, especially having been written by high school kids. I like it, though not as much as back then, of course; the solo is nice, but I can’t help but feel a little bit embarrassed when I hear this. Which is actually why I won’t type the lyrics, ha ha. They’re easily decipherable, anyway.

(I wonder what Billie Joe was mumbling at the end….)

Bless the people who still have their age-old concert recordings around. Twenty-two years this was. Crazy. They were 16 or 17 at the time. I was still wetting my bed and crying for my mommy when I was that age.
“Shut up and play the fucking song!” I’m pretty sure that’s their drummer.

Leave a Reply

