Sammy the Seal

“This goose is cooked”

In vinyl on Saturday, 8 October, 2011 at 22:17


Song: Black Wave
Artist: The Shins
Album: Wincing The Night Away

A spare, haunting downer. Mainly atmospheric, but still lovely. The moody and dark is an enjoyable departure from the pop sound they cultivate more. I’d even say it’s depressing. I’m quite a fan of personal subject matter set to upbeat music, but the reverse works for me too. Of course, I refer to the wonderfully insincere attempt at “looking on the brighter side.” Conditions under which I appreciate disingenuousness in music are few, but when music and lyrics belie and betray each other, I’m pleased. Irony and understatement are good for you.

Leave a Reply

