Sammy the Seal

“I wanna go back to sleep”

In music videos, vinyl on Sunday, 2 October, 2011 at 23:17


Song: Gravity Rides Everything
Artist: Modest Mouse
Album: The Moon And Antarctica

This was really in a car commercial back when? I don’t watch t.v. much, and I certainly wasn’t musically hip enough ten years ago. I’d say this is great for driving to in the evening in the rain, which has forced you to drive rather than walk to the grocery store (and it did go great with the rain), but really, the possibilities are limitless. Listen to that immaculate fucking melody, and feel fortunate and grateful that Isaac Brock sculpted it for you. It’s not a particularly sexy compliment, but this is one of those songs that I feel comforted and re-assured by. The feeling that what’s being expressed is greater than you can comprehend, and the artist even is just a conduit for something otherworldly and greater than us all. I know that sounds pretentious, but I’m completely serious. Aside from having a great hook to sing or hum, this often puts me at peace, if only temporarily. For four-plus minutes, the chaos, the abstract, and the unknowable of existence all seem to make sense, even if you don’t actually know how. It just does. I accept my feeble human comprehension and resign myself to ignorance, and am grateful and satisfied to do so. The secret to shutting me up: beauty.

There’s no official video, I thought this fan-made was nice, though the literal visual interpretation of the lyrics is kinda amateurish. It’s mainly the clouds that do it. Something about the formless and infinite…

Lyrics and punctuation taken directly from the liner notes:

Oh gotta see gotta know right now.
What’s that riding on your everything?
It isn’t anything at all.
Oh gotta see gotta know right now.
What’s that writing on your shelf in the bathrooms and bad motels
No one really cared for it at all.
Not the gravity plan.
Early Early in the morning it pulls all on down my sore feet
I wanna go back to sleep.

In the motions and the things that you say.

It all will fall, fall right into place.
As fruit drops, flesh it sags
Everything will fall/right into place
When we die some sink and some lay
But at least I don’t see you float away
And All the spilt milk sex and weight
It all will fall, fall right into place.

I guess you could call this the official video?

Leave a Reply

