Sammy the Seal

“We laughed off the quick tricks”

In vinyl on Tuesday, 20 September, 2011 at 19:00


Song: On The Bus Mall
Artist: The Decemberists
Album: Picaresque

I wonder what happened, I used to listen to these people fairly often. Actually, there’s a bit of history with this song, sort of. The song that precedes it, “The Engine Driver”, I remember standing in the hallway of my crazy girlfriend’s apartment when I lived in New York, just talking and talking, never going in, and I had lent her this album, and she had that song on repeat, so it played about twenty times probably. It got slightly annoying, but there was a girl there, so it wasn’t too grating.

Anyway, this is not that, I like this one better. It’s just a song about male hustlers, nothing more. But it is quite lovely. Many of Mr. Meloy’s lyrics can come across as slightly smarmy and/or erudite (they can occasionally test my patience) but this just a simple, affecting story, told straight up, with no angle, commentary, or editorializing. Something about the strum of the guitar sounds like raining, like the setting of the story. Now, if it had been this song on repeat, I wouldn’t have minded.

Leave a Reply

