Sammy the Seal

Pear apple giga pie

In delicious, vinyl on Tuesday, 6 September, 2011 at 21:24


Song: Giga Dance
Artist: Deerhoof
Album: Milk Man

deerhoof milkman

I don’t normally don’t do weird for weird’s sake, but this is pretty weird…. but in a not entirely inaccessible way. It’s got a weird hold of me. I think that organ has something to do with it. Sinister, sort of, but not really threatening. Besides, I can’t get enough of that album cover. I can’t wait until the next time I put up something from this album, so I can put the cover up again.

Anyway, the pie. I’ve made it before, but with a few differences this time. First, it’s actually a bastard pear pie, it has five pears and two apples (Granny Smith and Fuji, I believe?). Also, a crumble for the top instead of the lattice, and in the crumble was cinnamon, mace (not nutmeg!), and chopped almonds. I really like the almond in it, I ought to start doing that more in general. Who ever thought homemade pie dough was so easy. Why would you ever do a fake one ever again? What a wonderful thing.

pear pie slice 1

Cold.

pear pie slice 2

Warm. Note the difference.

Leave a Reply

