Sammy the Seal

“The boys in white sing ‘I’m a pretender'”

In music videos, vinyl on Saturday, 3 September, 2011 at 23:45


Song: Contender
Artist: The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
Album: The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart

Funny how without any drums or solid percussion, this feels like an intro track (it is track 1 on the album, but that’s not what I mean), or perhaps I should say interlude, even though it’s actually two-and-a-half minutes long. Good, fuzzy opening track with plenty of bouncing jangle. For some reason, the sound of it makes me feel like listening to music for hours like a geek. (I do have tons of “new” music to sift through, actually. As Homer would say, I acquired it legally, you can be sure of that.) But, it’s almost midnight.

Music video bonus why not:

  1. […] The boys in white, as I understand it. I won’t depress you with their tragic story, but instead focus on that immaculate throwback sound. Scuzzy as hell but melodic, it sounds like it was actually from the 70s. Anachronistic, almost. Still a bit unnerving to hear, though. I’m not sure why, death is a part of life. (I want to know what he says at the end, all I hear is “something something shit”.) Ugh, let’s just focus on the exuberance. […]

Leave a Reply

