Sammy the Seal

“Don’t give me no shit because I’ve been tired”

In music videos, vinyl on Tuesday, 30 August, 2011 at 11:44


Song: I’ve Been Tired
Artist: Pixies
Album: Come On Pilgrim

Ah, early Pixies. If this doesn’t make you smile, check your ass for an obstruction. The bass is fluid and playful, the guitars jitter, prance and ring, and the lyrics are a hoot, delivered sassily by Francis. It’s hilarious! I mean, the sigh, “losing my penis to a whore with disease”, “excuse me, please?”, Kim’s breathy cameo in the second verse, they all crack me up with joy. And, a great, hidden line in “don’t give me no shit because I’ve been tired.” When you yelp like they do, you can get away with the three-word chorus. I laugh as much as I enjoy the music itself. What a great song.

I didn’t realize until now how prolific these people were, all their albums were put out in consecutive years from 1987 to 1991. A rapid, consistent embarrassment of riches. The very beginning and end of the song are missing from the video, but at the same time, this is was captured on a camcorder and is the earliest clip I found– the time stamp shows 1986. Amazing. Taste the magic:

Parole:

(One two three)
She’s a real left winger ’cause she been down south and held peasants in her arms
She said “I could tell you stories that could make you cry, what about you?”
I said “Me too. I could tell you a story that will make you cry”
And she sighed, “Ahhh”
I said “I wanna be a singer like Lou Reed”
“I like Lou Reed”, she said, sticking her tongue in my ear
“Let’s go, let’s sit, let’s talk, politics go so good with beer,
and while we’re at it, baby, why don’t you tell me one of your biggest fears?”
I said, “Losing my penis to a whore with disease”
“Just kidding”, I said “Losing my life to a whore with disease”
She said, “Excuse me, please?”
I said “losing my life to a whore with disease.” I said, ” Please,
I’m a humble guy with healthy desire. Don’t give me no shit because

I’ve been tired”

I tell my tale of a girl, but I call her a woman
She’s a little bit older than me
Strong legs, strong face, voice like milk, breasts like a cluster of grapes
I can’t escape the ways she raise me
She’ll make you feel like Solomon, be one of your babies even if you had no one
(And while we’re at it, baby, why don’t you tell me one of your biggest fears?)
“You don’t wanna sleep after setting my loins on fire, but that’s okay because

I’ve been tired”

T-i-r-e-d spells it

Leave a Reply

