Sammy the Seal

“Bargaining for your love can be such a drag”

In music videos, vinyl on Friday, 26 August, 2011 at 22:10

Song: Rosie
Artist: The Smugglers
Album: Rosie

Another awesome video find. I’m barely familiar with The Smugglers, from my Lookout! Records days (though this is actually on Mint). If Rosie sounds familiar, it’s none other than Rose Melberg (The Softies, Go Sailor, Tiger Trap), though not in the video, that’s just an actress lip syncing. I just like that she’s part of a peppy little rock song, her vocals even get a little animated at times. I love the call and response at the very end, her dry “I’m right here” is precious.

Speaking of which, I have to say I found the video quite endearing, I think I actually like the song better because of it. Cute girls having a slumber party, and a rock and roll band comes over to play– not the most daring concept, but it’s such harmless fun! Look at them, don’t they look like they’re having a great time? I love the scripted part at the beginning, perfectly done for a music video like this. The girl playing Rosie does a great ” ‘kay, dad”, it’s one of the best line readings I’ve ever heard for a portrayal of a teenage girl. Also, she’s adorable, which helps sell it. And, you have the “Rosie!” by the prowler climbing up the ladder (which as actually the screenshot for the first video), and playing the drums with wooden spoons.

For videos, you have two choices: the first one has better sound, but the second one has a cleaner picture. Also, the first one doesn’t actually start until 0:19 or so.

Leave a Reply

