Sammy the Seal

“I’m smokin’, oh baby”

In music videos, vinyl on Sunday, 21 August, 2011 at 20:28


Song: Howling at the Moon (Sha-La-La)
Artist: The Ramones
Album: Ramones Mania (this version)

The solo at 2:06 is so slow, enough that one can count the notes (I have 29), and still it feels good. Sorry, “Blitzkrieg Bop” or “I Wanna Be Sedated” this is not. I’m certainly not a purist (I wouldn’t even call myself a big fan) nor an obscurist, but I prefer this song to those two, and not because they’re their most popular. They’re still decent songs. (Contrast: “Should I Stay or Should I Go?” by The Clash, the only song of theirs I’ve heard on the radio, and a wholly mediocre song at that.) This one is light on the bratty and snarky, with more emphasis on the jubilant on extra-catchy. Who do you think “Sha La La” is in the song title, after all? They knew what they had. I’d say this is feel-good, but that sounds so touchy-feely and happy and fuzzy, so I’ll stick with jubilant. I like jubilant.

I didn’t know there was a video! And unlike the other copy I found, this on is in sync!

I guess I’m just more used to this version, though the song originally appeared on Too Tough To Die. It’s slightly different and about thirty seconds longer:

Leave a Reply

