Sammy the Seal

“You look thin and tired”

In celluloid, funny ha ha on Wednesday, 17 August, 2011 at 11:41

Gotta love that Annie, such matter-of-fact delivery. It goes even better with chocolate milk. Now that I have a functioning copy, I can re-live all the goodness. I’d say “ooh, this is one of the best scenes”, but then, the film is made up of them. So much in here: Alvy’s insecurity/hostility, “what am I, your son?”, Alvy’s graceful, reassuring (“don’t worry!”– gold!!!) assault on the spiders. Not to mention, I crib wholesale the word “heavy-osity” when I write about music. All in three minutes, and yet, it is a fully formed scene. (Hell, the entire film is just over 90 minutes.) A clinic in comedic and dramatic economy.

After repeated review, I have decided that “would you like a glass of chocolate milk?” belongs in the pantheon of greatest lines in the history of film. Goddamn, Diane Keaton kicks ass.

Leave a Reply

