Sammy the Seal

Noche latina, con postre no latino

In delicious on Sunday, 14 August, 2011 at 18:01

This is actually from yesterday, as common decency prohibits writing while on other people’s time. I would have loved to get a shot of the table, but I was likely too excited and hungry that I forgot to snap one. It was beautiful though, it consisted of cheese enchiladas– filled with black beans, corn, red peppers, and cumin– and a chalupa spread, with refried beans and tostada shells, and a large, rectangular platter in the middle for greens, tomato, and two kinds of cheese. Oh, and margarita. All homemade, save the sauce, I believe. It was also the first time in a very long time that I ate dinner in a dining room, on a long dining table, with placemats, and a napkin in my lap. It felt strangely formal and old-fashioned (in the sense that I’d say a minority of people these days eat at a dinner table, contrast with in front of a fucking television), but in a good way. Good food and company, people sitting across from each other in symmetric fashion, not in a line/trough formation, able to look at one another. And, even with four bodies, there were plenty of leftovers, which means more goodness today and tomorrow.

Prepared earlier was the lemon meringue pie. I was very stressed out about the meringue whipping up and holding its shape, but we eventually got it and I was pleased at the result, especially given the frustration I started to exhibit. I’m ashamed to say there was a witness to this. (I suppose I’m prone to caring too much.) Also, the pie crust had shrunk a little upon pre-bake, which was, at first, disappointing. But, as a result, there was excess lemon filling lying around, which was not disappointing. A gold medal birthday.

lemon meringue whole

lemon slice 1

I knew it would taste fine, my main concern was how it would hold up structurally. Whew!

lemon slice 2

Due to my overthinking, indecisive nature, I forewent any wishing. There was pie to be had.

Not to mention gifts. Lucky me.

Leave a Reply

