Sammy the Seal

“Give me sound, give me something real”

In music videos, vinyl on Monday, 25 July, 2011 at 17:00


Songs: Bury Me Standing; What About Us?
Artist: Handsome Furs
Album: Sound Kapital

As promised, songs from the show: one “surprise” (in the sense that I wasn’t necessarily looking out for it), and one I was going to post soon anyway. I liked “Bury Me” enough before, but it’s moved near the front of the line now that I’ve had to sold to me live. It certainly helps that it’s one of the more energetic, upbeat songs there, but now it has fun memories attached to it. As for “What About Us?”, the first half is not at all bad, but rather, I bet that what you remember most about the song is the second half. It’s pretty obvious (and at the exact midpoint, 2:39), it’s when it gets all pretty and haunting. Almost to the point of preciousness, but it’s still moving. A comforting listen for when you feel “under control from forces impossibly remote.” The melody on the part is sticky enough that, in the last two days, I’ve caught myself singing and humming it under my breath while talking to someone.

Let’s sing along with the unpopular song(s): “on, off, on, off, on, off, on, off, on, off… never stop!”  “I’ve been living life so long…”  “Let’s stay in this evil little world”

And, from the same guy who brought you Wolf Parade’s “Yulia”:


I don’t really understand it, but the music does create a sense of intimacy that would belie the series of ostensibly prurient, titillating images. And hey, look, the album cover’s in there too!

  1. […] I Get Back Damage All We Want, Baby, Is Everything Memories Of The Future Bury Me Standing* (love this one live) What About Us? Repatriated* Radio Kaliningrad* Serve The […]

Leave a Reply

