Sammy the Seal

“Just wanted to hear your kitten voice”

In celluloid, music videos, vinyl on Saturday, 16 July, 2011 at 22:00


Song: When He Calls Me Kitten
Artist: The Kelley Deal 6000
Album: Boom! Boom! Boom!

Aww, how sweet! I only know this because of the film May, so thank you, Lucky McKee! I first saw it way back in 2004, but it wasn’t until I saw the film again two or three years ago, when I knew who Kim Deal was (having not been familiar with Pixies at that time), that I recognized the voice crooning “Do You Love Me Now?”, and, later on in the film, this song as well (though upon researching, I discovered it was actually Kelley). Oh, and “Oh!” as well. All three of these songs fit quite nicely the tone of the film, being slightly off-beat and odd, but with real tenderness. Years too late, but it was still a genuine “hey, I know them– cool!” moment that no one can take away from me.

“Do You Love Me Now?” will have its day, maybe May too, but for now, let’s worship at the sugar altar. Look, the scene the song appears in:

Starring the fabulous Angela Bettis as May, and Anna Faris, awesome again in another small role, as May’s lesbian co-worker. I need to see that movie again sometime.

Leave a Reply

