Sammy the Seal

Pecans save.

In delicious on Tuesday, 12 July, 2011 at 19:06

Not Jesus, as you may have heard. Upon walking into the grocery store yesterday, the first thing I saw was plums (“this is a fresh shop, everything is fresh! I will do well here…”) on sale so I thought I’d make this again. Halving it, I bought about 1.5 pounds of plums. Upon prepping everything a few hours later, I realized there was just enough filling to cover the bottom of the dish. Inexplicably, I had forgotten the cardinal rule of purchasing for pie: err on the side of more fruit! Next time, at least two.

Fortunately, I already had the idea for mixing some pecans into the filling and the topping. Not that it would have been bad without, just that there would have been very little there. I bought about a quarter pound (came out to a little over a cup), splitting it roughly in half, one portion each for the filling and topping. For the filling pecans, I toasted at 200° for twenty minutes, then minced them. Small enough to mix around, but big enough to crunch. The other pecans were hacked up a bit more finely, then went into the topping mix raw, since they’ll be exposed directly to the heat.

I believe the instructions say 425º for 45, but around 15-20 minutes in, I believe I dropped it to 375º, and again to 350º. One of the great things about baking is that, after prep work is done, the oven does the rest and you can relax a spell, however: always, always, always check in on your goods. I noticed the topping getting golden early on, and adjusted. Might well have scorched otherwise. Oh, and I used a round cake pan this time. Um, yeah.

It wasn’t a rousing success, rather, it just made things less embarrassing. For sure though, nuts are a few steps closer to the foreground, as far as primary ingredients go. And I swear, one of these days I should get a photo of an individual portion to better see the innards of a thing, as a shot of the whole, uncut, isn’t terribly exciting. Not seen below: a cake pan with crumble in it. Wow.

  1. I wish that there was a photo, it does sound delicious even tho you say it wasn’t a success. Yumm. Pie.

Leave a Reply

